Home / Business & Finance / Deputy Minister Chana Pilane-Majake visits Tsomo as part of community Imbizo, 19 Nov

Deputy Minister Chana Pilane-Majake visits Tsomo as part of community Imbizo, 19 Nov

Deputy Minister Pilane-Majake to visit Tsomo on a community Imbizo
The Deputy Minister for the Public Service and Administration, Dr Chana Pilane-Majake will on Monday 19 November 2018, visit Tsomo, in IntsikaYethu Local Municipality in the Eastern Cape on community Imbizo to engage with local residents on issues of service delivery.
The Imbizo is part of the government’s National Imbizo Focus Week currently underway across the country between 12 and 25 November 2018, dubbed ‘fortnight of Activism’ in response to Thuma Mina, a clarion call to action by President Cyril Ramaphosa to build the South Africa we want.
The two weeks programme is aimed at rekindling social partnerships with citizens to reignite the economy, creating jobs and building a society, to educate communities on how to raise concerns constructively, and respond to issues of service delivery through practical interventions. Government has expressed concerns on the destruction of property during community demonstrations to raise service delivery dissatisfactions, and that such destructions serve to rob the poor much needed services. .
The programme is hosted within the context of former President Nelson Mandela and Mama AlbertinaSisulu centenary, a 100 years’ celebration of the two former struggle stalwarts and public servants who dedicated their lives to serve the people of this country.
Deputy Minister Pilane- Majake is expected start the day by visiting and interacting with the frontline public servants at one of the service delivery points in Tsomo area to determine the state of services and what should be done to enable officials to do their work better and serve the communities in line with the Batho Pele Principles.
The Imbizo serves to respond to service delivery challenges experienced by citizens in their communities, and as a strategic vehicle that enables the department to interact with citizens in its quest to improve service provision in support of the priorities of government.
IntsikaYethu Municipality is 100 percent rural with two small towns, Cofimvaba and Tsomo, and has 21 wards. It is one of six municipalities that falls within Chris Hani District Municipality in the Eastern Cape.

Source: Government of South Africa

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top